share on:

Four corporators accused of abetting the suicide of builder Suraj Parmar on Saturday Surrendered before police in accordance with the directions issued by the Bombay High Court.

The four corporators – Vikrant Chavan (Congress), Najib Mulla, Hanumant Jagdale (both NCP) and Sudhakar Chavan (independent) walked into the office of Investigating Officer ACP Dileep R Gore of the Vartak Nagar division and surrendered themselves around 9 am.

On December 1, after the High Court refused their anticipatory bail pleas, the corporators had sought time to surrender before police and had withdrawn their bail petitions after being denied relief by the High Court.

Also read: Suraj Parmar Suicide Case: Accused Najeeb Mulla Resigns As NCP City President

Parmar, a director with the Cosmos Group and Thane unit president of Maharashtra Chamber of Housing Industry (MCHI) had committed suicide on October 7, by shooting himself with his licenced gun inside a flat at one of his sites in Kasarvadavali.

Parmar also left behind a 13-page suicide note and blamed extortion attempts by the four politicians as one of the reasons for taking the extreme step.

Thane police had registered a case of ‘abetment to suicide’ under the Prevention of Corruption Act after a suicide note left by Parmar revealed their names as the ones who had allegedly harassed him.

Read all stories related to Suraj Parmar Suicide Case

Leave a Response

share on: